Approved TWPC with additional Delegates and Referees and Clubs Commission

Published On: June 22, 2024

At the European Aquatics Bureau meeting held in Belgrade on June 21, 2024, the new Technical Water Polo Committee was appointed for the period 2024–2028. Their main task will be the technical development and improvement of all segments of water polo competitions and the promotion of water polo. A particular concern in selecting committee members was ensuring gender equality. For the first time, we have 4 women among the 17 members.

Below, you can find the names and functions of the new TWPC 2024–2028:

Perica Bukic (CRO) – Chair
Tamas Molnar (HUN) – Vice Chair
Karl Izzo (MLT) – Vice Chair
Matjaz Rakovec (SLO) – Secretary
Ana Aretxabaleta (ESP) – Member
Reija Hakkinen (FIN) – Member
Jean-Michel Delon (FRA) – Member
Piers Martin (GBR) – Member
Alessandro Campagna (ITA) – Member
Axel Bender (GER) – Member
Michail Kouretas (GRE) – Member
Oonagh Garry (IRL) – Member
Duro Maric (MNE) – Member
Paulo Ramos (POR) – Member
Radu Matache (ROU) – Member
Mihajlo Korolija (SRB) – Member
Aysem Ozalp (TUR) – Member

On the same occasion, during the meeting, the new organizational structure of Water Polo was presented. For the appointments of the Delegates and Referees, the new Delegates and Referees Commission will be in charge, as well as for other matters related to refereeing work.
The approved members of the new Delegates and Referees Commission are:

Mr. Andy Hoepelman (NED)
Ms. Stavroula Kozompoli (GRE)
Mr. Angel Moliner (ESP)

As a support to the work of both TWPC and the Delegates and Referees Commission, former secretary of TWPC 2016-2024, Mr. Dejan Perisic was given a new role as a part of the European Aquatics Water Polo Department Office. As a new member of the Office, he will also be in charge of the technical Officials’ educational programme. Dejan may be contacted at the following email address:

European Aquatics continues to prioritise the development of European Club competitions and recognises the need for close co-operation with European water polo clubs. For this reason, a new water polo Clubs’ Commission has been formed with the following members:

Mr. Maurizo Felugo (ITA)
Mr. Santiago Fernandez (ESP)
Mr. Justas Liubertas (LTU)